Loader Image

A Gala Christmas in Vienna


On December 21, 1997, Sarah Brightman, Helmut Lotti, and Riccardo Cocciante shared the stage of the Rathaus in Vienna, Austria with Placido Domingo for his annual Christmas in Vienna concert, which aired on live television in addition to being recorded for this video release. “Featuring carols and songs from all over the world…the singers join conductor Steven Mercurio and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra in renewing the charm of holiday favorites and sharing beautiful new songs that celebrate the season.” Running approximately 73 minutes long, the concert has several highlights for Sarah’s fans, including her solo of “The First of May” by The Bee Gees and the now traditional “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” during the medley part of the program.

Track Listing

1.  Christmas Prologue (Orchestra)
2. Deck the Halls (Placido Domingo)
3. The Closing of the Year (Sarah Brightman
4. Tu Scendi Dalle Stelle (Riccardo Cocciante)
5. Walking in the Air (Placido Domingo
6. Adeste Fideles (Helmut Lotti)
7. Away in a Manger (Placido Domingo
8. An Old-Fashioned Christmas (Placido Domingo)
9. First of May (Sarah Brightman)
10. Re Gesu (Placido Domingo
11. Interlude (Orchestra)
12. Brightman
13. Cantemos Rapaces (Domingo
14. Christmas Is Here Again (Domingo
15. Child in a Manger (Domingo
16. Angels From the Realms of Glory (Domingo
17. Another Christmas Song (Domingo
18. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (Domingo
19. Happy Christmas (War is Over) (Domingo
20. Silent Night (Placido Domingo