Loader Image

As I Come of Age


Sarah follows up The Songs That Got Away with a completely different solo album.

As I Came of Age is a rather eclectic CD, containing such diverse songs as “Good Morning Starshine” from the musical Hair, “Yesterday” by Aimee Mann, “Love Changes Everything” from the Lloyd Webber musical Aspects of Love, and “Some Girls” by Lisa Burns and Sal Maida, with lyrics that include:

Some girls get carried away
Others save it for a rainy day
But we’ll beg, borrow or steal
We’ll paint the town if we don’t
drown in sex appeal

The CD was produced by Val Garay and recorded from November 1988 to October 1989.

The cover art features a Robert Blakeman photograph of Sarah, montaged onto the “The Kings’ Orchard” (a painting by Arthur Hughes c. 1858).

Track Listing

1. River Cried
2. Something to Believe In
3. As I Came of Age
4. Take My Life
5. Some Girls
6. Brown Eyes
7. Love Changes Everything
8. Good Morning Starshine
9. Alone Again Or
10. Yesterday
11. Bowling Green
12. It Must Be Tough….To Be That Cool